short and simple

hello blogtown readers.

man the last few days have been really good.

I am constantly being reminded of how much my faith is based entirely on mercy and grace.

This week for me has been all about seeing two things.

one- I am selfish and so much of what I do is out of an urge to be seen or known.

and two- It is not about me. (life that is)

All this sounds so simple. And growing up in the church makes my ears thick to cliche’ words, no matter how muh truth they hold.

I am innately very cynical to large ministry organizations such as Student Life… yet no matter how much I disagree with the professional workings on finances and productional focuses… The reliance on Gods word is continually the core of everything here. And because the need for God’s truth and his life is set as the key to everything here, He is being glorified. And that is, and will forever be, the most important thing.

This works to remind me that as humans we will never fully understand God entirely correctly in the fullest extent. Yet because the gospel of Christ does not depend on us we can find God and know his love.

My prayer is that God makes me as small as possible this summer. How will i do that from a stage as I act like an idiot? I know he will teach me

I love and miss you.

2 responses to “short and simple

  1. “We do not exist for ourselves alone, and it is only when we are fully convinced of this fact that we begin to love ourselves properly and thus also love others …. It is because of [our deficiencies] that we need others and others need us. We are not all weak in the same spots, and so we supplement and complete one another, each one making up in himself for the lack in another …. [The] meaning of my life is not merely in the sum total of my own achievements. It is seen only in the complete integration of my achievements and failures with the achievements and failures of my own generation, and society, and time. It is seen, above all, in my integration in the mystery of Christ.” (Thomas Merton, No Man is an Island)

  2. You’re blessed when you’re at the end of your rope. With less of you there is more of God and his rule … Matthew 5:3 The Message Bible

Leave a comment